First Radio Interview

It came and went just like a blur. When my novel was published, I knew there would be some marketing implications involved with the selling of the book, so mentally I was prepared for this, but I admit, when I was told to prepare for my first radio interview, well … I’d be lying if I didn’t say I was a bit anxious. It’s not as if I was new to this sort of thing. I’ve actually done quite a few interviews and performances on the radio with my band, Koncrete Kite, in the past. But that was with my band, my brothers. This time I was going solo.

I wasn’t exactly sure how I should approach this one. Should I prepare notes, or just wing it. Being that I’m a bit of a procrastinator, I chose the latter and didn’t think much more about it until the day before the interview. Suddenly it dawned on me that I didn’t know anything about either the interviewer, or the station. Would this person toss me some softball questions about my book, or would they grill me on the subject matter? After all, who was I to write about Atlantis? What do I know about the lost city? What qualifies me to write about this topic? The seeds of doubt started growing in my mind. What if I couldn’t answer their questions?

After allowing myself a few moments to run through a number of worst-case scenarios that could possibly arise from this brief experiment in public speaking, I stopped, took a deep breath, and just relaxed. Clearly I was over analyzing this. They’re just going to ask me a few questions about my book. What was I so nervous about? I mean, I did write it, I should know the answers. It’s not like they were going to ask me to discuss the history of Atlantis … or would they?

When the time finally arrived, I was well prepared. Even though I told myself I wouldn’t, I did my homework and read up everything I could about Atlantis. I couldn’t leave anything to chance. By the time of the interview I could tell you who else wrote about it, filmed it, where it first originated from, etc. I’m not sure if it was a relief, or a disappointment that I didn’t get to share any of this newfound knowledge.

Before I knew it, the interview was over and I had a blast. The interviewer couldn’t have been more professional. He prepared me for what we would discuss, made me feel very relaxed, and best of all, mentioned to me that the interview would be recorded; therefore it could be edited. Now being a musician, that’s all I needed to hear. I’ve had my share of overdubs in the past.

In the end, I thought I did okay; at least they said I did okay. I don’t know, I never heard it myself. You be the judge. It just so happens that I have another radio spot coming up this week and I would love some feedback. As far as preparing for the next one, this much I do know … I plan on having fun with it.

Leave a Reply

