Thrones is King – J. A. Bove

Now, I’m not one to say I told you so, am I? No, I don’t think I am, but when I first heard that HBO was going to bring the Starks and Lannisters to television in their new series entitled ‘Game of Thrones’ based off the George R. R. MartinA Song of Ice and Fire’ saga, I told everyone I knew to watch it. Now, most people who know me know that I’m sort of a fantasy geek. I received a few half hearted, yeah sure, or I guess there’s nothing else to watch right now, so – eh I’ll give it a try. To all of you who gave this show a chance I say, you’re welcome. This is by far one of the best new shows to hit television since LOST.

HBO, in my opinion, does an incredible job in creating their series from True Blood, to The Sopranos, from Rome, to Thrones; they certainly don’t skimp on the production of these programs. You know the acting will always be incredible, the scenery will be spot on, and the scores are always fantastic. What I liked most about this particular series though, was that unlike many other novels turned to television, they kept true to the story. Bravo HBO, bravo Mr. Martin.

I’m sure it was a difficult decision in casting and keeping Sean Bean as Ned Stark. He was the most recognized name in the program, but as many of Ned’s fans knew, he wouldn’t see the end of season one. True to form, he didn’t. I was both saddened and pleased by this. Saddened to lose such a talent on the show in only season one but pleased to know that they would keep the story line of the novels in tact. From the first moment I saw Mr. Bean cast as Ned Stark, I thought he was a perfect fit for the role. Who better to bring some legitimacy to this new fantasy series than a ringer from the Lord of the Rings? Alas, as in Rings to Thrones, he was an impactful character that unfortunately, due to the story line, had made too early an exit on both projects.

This was why I first fell in love with this series – it was completely unpredictable. Who else would kill off the main protagonist in the first novel, or in this case, season one. That’s unheard of, that’s Thrones. I continue to believe that after the master J. R. R. Tolkien himself, Mr. Martin is by far the best fantasy writer of this generation. The newest book in the series is to be released July 12th entitled ‘A Dance with Dragons’ and to anyone who enjoyed this series, I recommend getting the book. My only caveat, don’t read it until you’re all caught up. You have to read three others in this series before you should read Dragons. After Thrones came ‘A Clash of Kings’, then ‘A Storm of Swords’ (my personal favorite) and finally ‘A Feast for Crows’.

The bad news for those of you wanting to catch up quickly is that each book is roughly a thousand pages, but considering the next season isn’t for another ten months, you’ll have a lot of time to catch up. The good news is that with the support of all my fantasy brethren, there’s four more seasons to go. Awesome! So if you haven’t yet seen the series and are one of those people who like to wait for DVD, don’t wait, watch it now on demand. The program will amaze, stun, and possibly even arouse you, but most importantly, it will entertain you, and isn’t that the point?

Leave a Reply

