So Long, Harry – J. A. Bove

I’ve been meaning to get to this review for some time, but as you know, life gets in the way … people to see, places to go, things to do. I did happen to catch the last installment of the Harry Potter series entitled ‘Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part2’ when it opened and below are some thoughts. Be aware if you didn’t see the movie, this review will reveal some spoilers, but then again, if you didn’t see the movie by now, odds are you’re not going to see the movie. Too bad, it was a good one.

First off, I must admit that I have read all the Potter books and have seen all the Potter movies. Personally, if you had to choose one option, I would choose reading the books versus going to the theater for two reasons: you’ll save a ton of money, and the books simply tell a much better story. Frankly I don’t think there’s any comparison, but since my children aren’t big readers (gasp) we go to see all the movies as well.

Over the years the movies have gotten more mature. You’ve seen Harry and friends grow in more ways than one and the stories itself have drifted away from telling a children’s tale to becoming much more adult friendly. Needless to say, I’ve lost a couple of fans (my two youngest daughters) during the course of the last three films. Don’t despair Potter fans, I haven’t given up on the series, frankly, I thought the last three films were the best in the group, but I digress.

Back to part two of the Deathly Hallows. Okay, by now I’m assuming that you saw Part 1, you know the feel good movie of last summer. We pick-up the story where the group had just buried their good buddy Dobby and they begin to question a goblin about breaking into Gringotts, the wizarding bank run by goblins and home to one hell of a dragon – and act.

What did we see? Well, from this person’s point of view, non-stop action throughout the movie. Frankly I think the group of three did some of their best acting to date in this last installment. The effects used to create the dragons, the fight scenes, Hogwarts, etc. as always were quite amazing. The sound was incredible. When I listened to the dementor’s screams reverberate throughout the castle it was enough to make the hairs on the back of my neck rise (so glad I didn’t bring my girls). Of course, Voldemort couldn’t have been more evil. The overtone throughout the movie was very ominous. Now, considering that I read the book, I knew a lot of the ‘good guy’ characters were killed off, but let’s face it, there’s got to be some casualties if you’re having an end all battle at Hogwarts with nothing less than Harry Potter as the prize.

The only part of the movie that I didn’t care for, which I know I’ll get grief for mentioning, is when Voldemort kills Potter. I remember not liking this in the book either, but here I thought it was even more confusing. Did he actually die or not? You clearly see Harry drop the resurrection stone right before Voldemort hits him with his Avada Kedavra spell. He awakens and is in a sparkling white King’s Cross Station with what appears to be a baby Voldemort writhing in pain on the ground.  He has a conversation with Dumbledore (which by the way comes across as a callous ass in this film) and before long is back in the forbidden forest. You clearly see him gasp, yet he’s inspected and paraded around as a dead man. The more I think about it, the more I’m scratching my head.

Other then that I thought the movie was well done and definitely worth seeing. There was a great sense of closure for Potter fans worldwide. Nice touch at the end to show the gang all grown up and married with their young ones now going to Hogwarts. Was is me, or did the women age better than the men. Ron put on some weight.

All and all it’s been a wonderful run elapsing ten years and lucrative series, grossing over six billion dollars. What will Potter fans do now? Where will Warner Brothers turn to find its next cash cow? No worries fantasy fans. There’s plenty of other wonderful tales available out there to be told. If you are in the market for a new series, might I suggest a world full of mermaids in the city of Atlantis? Just saying is all, just saying.

Leave a Reply

