Ja, da ist gut – J. A. Bove

Hello readers, I’m sorry for the lack of publishing last week, but yours truly finally took some needed time off and went on vacation. Maybe I was inspired by the Captain America film I saw, or the need to visit my motherland, but I decided to take the family to Germany. Where in Germany you say? Well specifically we based our camp in Munich, or as the native Deutsche would say, Munchen (please forgive the missing umlauts at the top of the word, my computer can’t produce the symbol).

You went to Germany now you say? The global markets are collapsing, riots are hitting the streets of what are considered civilized nations, and I decided to take my family to Germany? Yes I did, and we couldn’t have been more pleased. There was so much to do and see that I couldn’t possibly give enough justice to what we did in one short blog. I will do my best to try and point out some highlights. We did however get an opportunity to visit the Schloss Neuschwanstein castle shown on the right – defintely a must see.

First off, let me just say that their city was remarkably clean. When I say clean, I don’t mean a quick coat of fresh paint on a filthy wall clean, I mean truly neat and organized. I can honestly say that I did not see one person on any corner asking for a handout. There was no debris floating around the streets and graffiti didn’t plaster the walls of the buildings. I don’t litter personally, but if I did, it certainly wouldn’t be in this city … it would be like a coffee stain on a clean sheet of paper.

The architecture was amazing. There were no buildings above nine stories high, well with the exception of the BWW building and the Olympic tower, but very few. The streets had an overabundance of beautiful trees lining the roads, and the buildings in the Odeonsplatz were amazing to view. They reminded me of the old Roman buildings, filled with marble and tall columns. There was also a church I visited in the same area that was built around the sixteenth or seventeenth century that was one of the most beautiful (next to St. Peters, of course) that I think I’ve ever seen.

Another thing that really impressed me was how organized and efficient the city appeared. Now I may have taken two years of German in high school, but to say I speak German is like saying Spanglish is a legitimate language. That stated I did not have any difficulty getting around town. When I did happen to lose myself, I simply stopped a person in the street and asked ‘Sprechen sie Englisch?‘ Most people had a basic grasp of the language, but between the two broken parts we could come to a whole. I have to admit; due to my blonde appearance more than one person came up to me and started speaking German. Imagine their disappointment when I opened my mouth to reply.

It only took us a day to get acclimated to the time change and before long, we felt very comfortable roaming the city and exploring everything Munich had to offer. My only regret is that I didn’t get an opportunity to view a Bundesliga game. Munich is home of the FC Bayern Munchen. They were in town while we were there, but from what I understand, it is next to impossible to obtain a ticket. I guess it was best I didn’t end up going, they lost the game, but it still would have been quite the experience.

All in all, I would say to anyone curious about visiting Germany, I highly recommend going to Munich. The people were friendly, the city was beautiful to see, and there is obviously a lot of history to view and family friendly things to do. If you do go, make sure to enter a beer garden. We happened to go to quite a few while we were in town. I know what you might be thinking, but you brought you’re children. Don’t worry, they’re kid friendly. One even had a play zone. The beer is strong but delicious and the servings are plentiful. My favorite was the Hofbrauhaus. They even had a live oompa band performing in their lederhosen outfits … classic. Bottom line, would I go again, short answer yes. Ich bin ein fan of Munchen.

Leave a Reply

