Ghost Hunting: J. A. Bove

Hello thrill seekers, I’m back with yet another ghost hunting adventure. Over the weekend a small group of friends got together to do some actual ghost hunting in Ybor City’s very own Cuban Club. Now, for those of you not too familiar with the Cuban Club it was rated the top ten most haunted sights in America by the Travel Channel. In fact, TAPS very own Jason and Grant came down to my fair city and visited this very sight. After a full evening of investigation, they did declare the sight haunted. Below are my findings of the establishment.

All told, there were eight of us who went on this adventure. We made sure we had all the right equipment from EVP devices, to EMF meters, thermal cameras, and night vision goggles. We even downloaded some app that supposedly lets you know if a presence is in the room and if so, what they might be saying. Ok, so we’re equipped, it’s nighttime, and we’re in the club. All people have now vacated the premises and we’re the only ones in the building. It’s time to go hunting.

Now, I want to give you a little background on the club itself. It was first established back in 1917 and was created as a gathering place for members of the Cuban National Club. It remains open to this day and caters to concerts, dancing, and the cantina and theater are open to the general public. We were told going in that a number of violent murders had taken place in this club and that it still harbored many spirits. One is believed to be of an accountant who was murdered in cold blood, shot in the head while stealing money from the safe. Another is of a woman in white who floats around the stairways leading to the ‘brothel’ upstairs. The last is of a little boy who roams the area, apparently not a happy spirit, but unfortunately I don’t recall his back-story (boo, bad ghost hunting). I know, but my investigation will make up for this.

The EMF meters went off as soon as we entered the building, and when I mean went off, they were going crazy. There were no lights on in the establishment. The only light flowing through came from the outside. We ran an EVP session, but could not detect anything on our devices. The meters indicated that we were standing next to a presence and our thermal gauge did drop in temperature, but we had no personal experiences to share.  Keep in mind that they told us the air conditioning was turned off, which I’m not so sure I believed them. We are in Tampa in August no less, so if your thermal is reading seventy-five degrees, something is on … regardless, onward.

We went toward the theater and before entering, we felt a cold draft coming in from the front of what appeared to be a ticket booth. Again, they claim they a/c was off, but frankly, I think it was a draft coming in from the theater. Let me explain. Outside had to have been roughly ninety degrees (and I’m being kind), and it was clearly much cooler inside the theater itself. We registered a common temperature of seventy-five … logic would tell you … never mind. We entered the theater and this is when it got interesting.

We were given another brief overview and were told of a man who hung himself in the theater. Why? I don’t recall, (boo, I know), but we were led to the spot of the hanging. EMF meters spiked once again, but this time we received a heat spike as well. My daring brother played the part of Zach on Ghost Adventures and felt compelled to call out the spirit, demanding that it tug on his shirt, or make itself know. Nothing. Oh well, he then asked that to prove its presence if it would make the thermometer gauge spike to eighty-five degrees. It did. Okay, somewhat impressed, and on command I might add.

Next we explored the stage. Some of us broke off, while others remained on stage. Some went upstairs toward the unofficial brothel and others (myself) explored the seating area. For the people who remained downstairs we heard coins drop on to the stage. Everyone in the group adamantly denied tossing any change, or removing anything from their pockets. Interestingly enough, when the money hit the floor, my voice detector did catch the phrase: money. Coincidence, possibly, but it happened nonetheless.

Finally, the reason I decided to explore the seating area in front of the stage is because while on stage I thought I saw an orb. I put on the night goggles and looked out into the seating area and there it was plain as day. When I took off the goggles, and looked into the same area, it was pitch black. I pointed the orb out to my friend and when he placed the goggles on, he too saw the orb just sitting in the middle of the seating area. Okay, this needs further investigation.

We walked down the stage and into the middle of the seating section. When I finally discovered the spot of the orb, my thermal detector dropped from seventy-five degrees down to sixty-eight. My friend held up his EMF meter and it lit up like a Christmas tree. Neither of us received any voice detection, nor felt any presence. What was interesting though, is that each time we lowered our device, the EMF meter would stop. When we raised it in the air above our heads, it spiked. Again, this was a big open theater and it did not spike anywhere else in the seating area. Spirit detected? I can’t confirm.

End result, we spent roughly half an hour investigating the area. Certainly not a sufficient amount of time needed to draw any conclusions. Did we all encounter our devices to activate in one fashion or another? Yes. Did any of us have any personal experiences? No. Bottom line, whether you choose to believe or night, it made for a fun evening out with friends. We all had a drink afterwards and shared our thoughts on the evening. Will Grant and Jason ask me to join the team, doubtful, but would I do something like this again, most definitely.

Leave a Reply

