Writer’s Block – J. A. Bove

Whew … this is a lot harder than I thought it would be. When I first stared this blog, almost a year ago, I did it kicking and screaming. My publicist said it was critical to do a blog if I wanted to have any success whatsoever in attempting to sell my book. I explained to her that I don’t do blogs. I never did one before and I wouldn’t even know what to talk about every week if I did. Her response was simple – just do them. And while you’re at it, set-up a face book account, twitter account, and design a web site. I was almost ready to quit before I even got started. Are you kidding me? I just wanted to write fiction. I’m not exactly a marketing kind of guy.

Well, it’s now been exactly thirty-nine weeks later and I’m still at it. How do I know it’s been thirty-nine weeks? I know, because I’ve written thirty-eight posts for my blog. This blog is number thirty-nine. I’ve entitled it, ‘Writer’s Block’, because frankly I’m at a complete loss as to what to discuss this week. There have been no new movies released that I’ve gone to see. I’m still reading George R. R. Martin’s latest book, A Dance with Dragons (quite the marathon), and I haven’t gone anywhere of significant interest to discuss. What in the world am I to write about?

To dictate the subject matter for this week I had to do my best to determine what exactly my blog represented. This puzzled me, because I never gave it any real thought. I was forced to do it and now that I’ve been writing for some time, I’ve actually come to enjoy it. But what does it represent? Is it a blog about reviews? Is it a blog about books, music, writing – what exactly does this blog represent? To be frank I have no idea. I like to consider myself somewhat of a renaissance man, so I don’t want to be pinned down to just one topic.

I was taught long ago that you don’t ever discuss religion and politics – that is unless you’re ready to go into some hotly debated conversations. I don’t like confrontation. I didn’t want to offend anyone, so I decided to keep my blogs light hearted. I like to be entertained, so I assumed most others did as well. I like to read, write, and create. These are the subjects I feel comfortable writing about. I also love to travel, watch films, and record music. These are subjects that I am willing to discuss. And although I’m a huge, and I mean huge football fan, go Giants, I’ve done my best to keep sports out of the topic of conversation. There are enough sporting sights and blogs, etc. to vent your frustrations over your team’s weekly performance. This is not one of those sights.

So where does this leave me? You know, my goal from the start was to write one hundred blogs. Will I make that goal? I don’t know. I’d like to think so, but I’m going to need a lot of inspiration to get me there. So if you’re out there, and I know you are, and you feel a subject needs to be covered, let me know about it. I’d love to hear your thoughts. I’d even be willing to let you be a guest blogger for my sight. Lord knows I could use a week off. On a side note, I’m still waiting for a certain screenwriter to make a guest appearance (very talented). You know who you are, don’t make me call you out.

That stated, I’ll leave you with this interesting story. Did you know that one of the best Beatle’s songs ever written was about this very subject. That’s right, ‘Nowhere Man’, written by John Lennon. Apparently after hours of trying to write the lyrics to the music and coming up with nothing, he gave up. He then lay down in bed and the words instantly came to him. He then sat down and wrote all the words to, ‘Nowhere Man‘. I guess the moral of the story is, don’t force it, let it come to you and when you’re ready, sit down and start writing. You never know what will come out. As for the blog for this week, I guess I’ll write about … hmm. Well how do you like that? I just wrote it.

Leave a Reply

